Hackengasse 20 - 1150 Wien
0043 1 9824272
Inquire
Book now
Zero Waste Lifestyle (3)
bottle-407912_1920

Zero Waste Lifestyle (3)

As we have promised in our last Zero Waste blog article, we will provide you with details about the five basic steps that must be implemented for a garabage-free lifestyle this week:

Refuse

Consuming does not only mean buying actively, but also accepting certain things. This step tackles the indirect forms of consumption. No matter where we are, we get overwhelmed by one-way plastic bottles, drinking straws, cups and cutlery almost daily. Unfortunately, this plastic does not only damage our environment by releasing toxic chemicals in its production process, it often cannot even be recycled and therefore ends up in parks, forests or the sea. That is the reason why you should strictly refuse these environmental injurers and resort to sustainable alternatives. The same applies to freebies, unnecessary packagings and receipts. You also need to declare war on the annoying junk mail to lead a zero waste lifestyle.     

waste-1433138_1920
flea-market-1883689_1920
Reduce

This essential step addresses the core issues of our garbage problem. First of all, you should inspect every single object of your household for its use and eliminate everything which is not needed. Flea markets, eBay or donate organizations are a great possibility to get rid of unutilized stuff in a sustainable way. And if you have worked your way through this elaborate step, you will look much more critical on new purchases and be more willing to reduce your consumption. This self-chosen simplicity even saves time, because there is less to clean, repair, store and dispose in the end.

Reuse

Reusing must not be put on a level with recycling, as this point rather aims at utilizing things in their original form further on. By purchasing reusable products, or bringing your own bag for shopping, precious resources can be spared. Objects which are not in daily use, like for example a lawnmower or a bike, can be shared with your neighbours. Broken items should be repaired instead of disposed or transformed into something new creatively. Buying secondhand is another awesome option to live more sustainable. Certainly, many more ideas will come to your mind when you start thinking about it once.

wine-bottle-1615854_1920
green-waste-513609_1920
Recycle

This step is probably self-explaining as we are recycling record holders, after all. Nonetheless, it is important that you try to realize all of the previous steps first, before falling back to recycling. Because all of these points only make sense in the prescribed order if you really want to reduce your waste.

Rot

One third of our household garbage is organic, wherefore rotting is the last necessary step. An own compost heap is a good start, for example.

You will find many more useful tips for the topic of zero waste in Bea Johnson’s guide. We will keep you in the loop about this important topic, next month with practice-oriented examples.

Leave a Reply

Hackengasse 20 - 1150 Wien
0043 1 9824272
Anfragen
Buchen
Zero Waste Lifestyle (3)
corridor-1045441_1920

Zero Waste Lifestyle (3)

Wie in unserem letzten Zero Waste-Blogartikel versprochen, versorgen wir Sie diese Woche mit näheren Informationen zu den fünf grundlegenden Schritten, die nötig sind, um einen müllfreien Lebensstil zu implementieren:

Refuse (Ablehnen)

Konsumieren bedeutet nicht nur aktiv einzukaufen, sondern auch, bestimmte Dinge einfach hinzunehmen. Dieser Schritt bekämpft daher die indirekten Formen des Konsums. Egal, wo wir sind, tagtäglich werden wir mit Einweg-Plastikflaschen, Strohhalmen, Bechern und Besteck überhäuft. Dieses Plastik schadet jedoch nicht nur unserer Gesundheit, indem giftige Chemikalien bei der Herstellung freigesetzt werden, sondern es ist auch oft nicht recycelbar und landet deshalb in Parks, Wäldern oder im Meer. Man sollte deshalb diese kleinen Umweltschädlinge schlichtweg ablehnen und auf nachhaltige Alternativen zurückgreifen. Dasselbe gilt auch für Gratisgeschenke, unnötige Verpackungen oder Quittungen. Auch der nervigen Werbepost gilt es beim Zero Waste Lifestyle den Kampf anzusagen!  

waste-1433138_1920
flea-market-1883689_1920
Reduce (Reduzieren)

Dieser unerlässliche Schritt geht die Kernfragen des Müllproblems an. Zunächst einmal sollte man jeden einzelnen Gegenstand im Haushalt auf seinen Nutzen hin überprüfen und radikal aussortieren, was nicht gebraucht wird. Flohmärkte, eBay oder auch Spendenorganisationen sind eine großartige Möglichkeit, um nicht genutzte Dinge nachhaltig loszuwerden. Und ist dieser aufwendige Schritt erst einmal getan, ist man neuen Anschaffungen gegenüber wesentlich kritischer eingestellt und eher geneigt, seinen Konsum einzudämmen. Diese selbstgewählte Einfachheit spart auch noch Zeit, indem es weniger zu putzen, reparieren, lagern und letztendlich auch zu entsorgen gibt.

Reuse (Wiederverwenden)

Wiederverwenden darf keinesfalls mit Recyceln gleichgesetzt werden, da dieser Punkt vielmehr darauf abzielt, Dinge in ihrer ursprünglichen Form weiter zu nutzen. Indem man Mehrwegprodukte kauft oder zum Einkaufen seine eigene Tasche mitbringt, werden wertvolle Ressourcen geschont. Gegenstände, die nicht täglich genutzt werden, wie beispielsweise der Rasenmäher oder auch das Fahrrad, können mit Nachbarn geteilt werden. Kaputte Gegenstände sollten repariert und nicht entsorgt oder kreativ in etwas Neues verwandelt werden. Auch Secondhand-Ware einzukaufen ist eine tolle Möglichkeit, um nachhaltiger zu leben. Bestimmt fallen Ihnen viele weitere Ideen ein, wenn Sie erst einmal darüber nachdenken.

wine-bottle-1615854_1920
green-waste-513609_1920
Recycle (Recyceln)

Dieser Schritt versteht sich vermutlich von selbst, da wir schließlich Rekordhalter in Sachen Recyceln sind. Wichtig ist aber, dass man erst versucht, alle vorherigen Schritte umzusetzen, bevor man sich auf’s Recycling beruft. Denn die Schritte machen nur in genau dieser Reihenfolge Sinn, wenn man seinen Müll wirklich reduzieren möchte.

Rot (Verrotten)

Ein Drittel unseres Hausmülls ist organisch, weshalb Verrotten der letzte notwendige Schritt ist. Ein eigener Komposthaufen ist dabei ein guter Anfang!

Noch viele weitere nützliche Tipps zum Thema Zero Waste finden Sie in Bea Johnsons Ratgeber. Wir halten Sie weiterhin über dieses wichtige Thema auf dem Laufenden, nächsten Monat dann mit praxisorientierten Beispielen.

Leave a Reply